Death Comes – A Willa Cather and Edith Lewis Mystery

Death Comes
268 Pages
ISBN 978-0985520045

Following On the Rocks, Sue Hallgarth's first Willa Cather and Edith Lewis mystery, DEATH COMES gives us another glimpse into the life and work of the Pulitzer-Prize winning novelist Willa Cather and her talented life partner. The year is 1926. Willa and Edith return to Mabel Dodge Luhan's pink adobe in Taos, New Mexico. Willa is writing Death Comes for the Archbishop. Edith is sketching Taos pueblos and hoping for a visit to the nearby D.H. Lawrence ranch. The previous summer they had stumbled on a woman's body. Now the headless bodies of two women add to the mystery. Sue Hallgarth presents an intimate portrait of Cather, Lewis, the spectacular New Mexico landscape, and the famous artists and writers Mabel Dodge Luhan gathered in Taos.

Sue Hallgarth

About Sue Hallgarth (Corrales, New Mexico Author)

Sue Hallgarth

Sue is a novelist and Willa Cather and Edith Lewis scholar. A former faculty member and administrator at Empire State College/State University of New York and William Woods University, she held a fellowship (1994-1995) from the American Council of Learned Societies to work on a biography of Willa Cather, and she was a visiting fellow at Princeton University and Rutgers University. From 1987-1996 she also served as a writing consultant and editor for the National Council for Research on Women. Since moving to New Mexico in 1997, she lives on an acre in Corrales, New Mexico, a small rural village outside of Albuquerque, with her partner of 30 years, and their household includes two horses, a miniature donkey, nine chickens, and four dogs. ON THE ROCKS; A WILLA CATHER AND EDITH LEWIS MYSTERY is her first published novel. The second novel in the series, DEATH COMES, launched October 1, 2017.

Other Books by This Author