The Pierced Veil – Book Three of the Ferryman Pentalogy

The Pierced Veil
119 Pages
Hobb's End Books
ISBN 978-1549505485

"He picked up one of the fur coats and helped her into it, then stroked the hair next to her temple, laying his head slowly back against the pillows. He gazed up at the gondola’s steel ferro (which loomed above them for the ship was right behind him and the flat-bottomed boat’s prow rested well above the waterline), and said, 'Take hold of my ship’s ferro, Shekalane. And hold on tightly.'

She looked at the great black and gold ferro, which pointed like a scimitar at the ceiling of the cavern, and its comb of seven tines, six pointing forward and one back, then back at Dravidian, whom she kissed before pushing herself up by her arms and, with the assistance of Dravidian’s big hands on her waist, gripped the topmost tines, the forward of which was etched with the word ‘Jaskir’ and the backward of which was etched ‘Novum Venum.’

“Wayne Spitzer’s FERRYMAN PENTALOGY is a tribute to the excellent writing of science fiction authors of the past; his precise and erudite language makes every chapter a pleasure to read. Spitzer’s underground water world demonstrates an incredible imagination which leaves the reader wondering just where this horrific future takes place. Is it our own planet that has become so twisted? Does the answer lie in the Latin location names? Has human nature changed so little that a single man can start a revolution and struggle with losing his focus over lust for a woman? THE FERRYMAN PENTALOGY is a brilliant novel designed as a five-part serial. If the price of the five books seems steep, consider it an investment in the future writings of a fine new author whose future works will not disappoint.”

Wayne Kyle Spitzer

About Wayne Kyle Spitzer (Spokane, Washington Author)

Wayne Kyle Spitzer

Wayne Kyle Spitzer (born July 15, 1966) is an American author and low-budget horror filmmaker from Spokane, Washington. He is the writer/director of the short horror film, Shadows in the Garden, as well as the author of Flashback, an SF/horror novel published in 1993.

Spitzer's non-genre writing has appeared in subTerrain Magazine: Strong Words for a Polite Nation and Columbia: The Magazine of Northwest History.

His recent fiction includes The Ferryman Pentalogy, consisting of Comes a Ferryman, The Tempter and the Taker, The Pierced Veil, Black Hole, White Fountain, and To the End of Ursathrax, as well as The X-Ray Rider Trilogy and a screen adaptation of Algernon Blackwood’s The Willows.