HUNTSMAN – The Hunted Mage Trilogy Book 1

379 Pages

~AD 1011 Ancient Finland ~ Once upon a time…Words held more Power and dragons roamed the world.

For Eyulf, the youngest son of a minor lord, the opportunity to train with a Rune-Singer Mage was the chance of a lifetime. He is content…until he discovers a volume of Lost Words, powerful Runes forgotten through the ages. Things go wrong quickly as he tampers with Magic he cannot control.

Jaakko, a simple huntsman, returns to his home late one night to find his village destroyed by a creature out of legend. Obsessed with the monster and his desire for revenge, he spends fruitless years hunting the beast before he realizes that it toys with him and he lacks the Power to destroy it.

When Avitus, an officer aboard a Byzantine ship of war, learns that his captain’s orders are to sell their ship and abandon the crew in the far North, he finds himself a penniless outlander. When he finds work as Steward to a future king he feels all will be well...until a crippled Mage comes to court.

Aila, spurned by Eyulf in his quest for Power, has quite happily made a new life for herself without him. When he returns and tries to claim her once more as his betrothed, her fear of the potent magic he wields keeps her from confiding in the few people she feels she can trust.

One by one, they are drawn into Eyulf's treachery.

The Hunted Mage Trilogy incorporates a blend of History, Fantasy, and Ancient Finnish folklore.

Michael R. Wilson

About Michael R. Wilson (New Hampshire Author)

Michael R. Wilson

Husband, Father, Hotelier, and Wordsmith! Michael R. Wilson’s love of Fantasy spans as far back as his 4th-grade book report on The Hobbit and soon escalated to the Prydain Chronicles of Lloyd Alexander and McCaffery’s Dragonriders of Pern series.

He has returned to the White Mountains after a decade away. He and his family roam the mountain paths on occasion…hunting Dragons!

Other Books by This Author