On the Rocks – A Willa Cather and Edith Lewis Mystery

On the Rocks
262 Pages
ISBN 978-0985520007

On the Rocks: A Willa Cather and Edith Lewis Mystery is the first title of Hallgarth’s smart new literary mystery series. We’re proud to publish this delightful novel, set in 1929 on Grand Manan, an island of small fishing villages in the Bay of Fundy, New Brunswick, Canada. Historically accurate, On the Rocks captures a unique time and place in engaging prose, weaving a terrific story in the process.

With tantalizing glimpses into Cather and Lewis’ personal lives as well as the lives of their large cohort of friends—some of the more interesting artists, writers, and reformers of the period—Hallgarth captures compelling times in American and Canadian history: Prohibition, post-World War I, an era that saw significant numbers of Independent Women living professional lives and creating joyful retreats for themselves and their friends and families.

Sue Hallgarth

About Sue Hallgarth (Corrales, New Mexico Author)

Sue Hallgarth

Sue is a novelist and Willa Cather and Edith Lewis scholar. A former faculty member and administrator at Empire State College/State University of New York and William Woods University, she held a fellowship (1994-1995) from the American Council of Learned Societies to work on a biography of Willa Cather, and she was a visiting fellow at Princeton University and Rutgers University. From 1987-1996 she also served as a writing consultant and editor for the National Council for Research on Women. Since moving to New Mexico in 1997, she lives on an acre in Corrales, New Mexico, a small rural village outside of Albuquerque, with her partner of 30 years, and their household includes two horses, a miniature donkey, nine chickens, and four dogs. ON THE ROCKS; A WILLA CATHER AND EDITH LEWIS MYSTERY is her first published novel. The second novel in the series, DEATH COMES, launched October 1, 2017.

Other Books by This Author